Ayurveda 101

Welcome to today’s topic, Ayurveda. Ayurveda is the traditional Hindu system of medicine, which is the idea of balancing your bodies system by diet, herbal treatment and yogic breaths/ breathing. I was introduced to Ayurveda last June. I have been seeing an Ayurvedic practitioner for a year now. Seeing an Ayurvedic practitioner has personally been very beneficial because unfortunately I have a horrible case of fungus. In hopes to cure or tame this monster of mine I was recommended to go see an Ayurvedic practitioner. I will link his information below of the person I see in the Buffalo/ Rochester, NY area.

When I first went to visit the practitioner I honestly knew nothing about who he was or what Ayurveda was. I had no idea I was walking into an Ayurvedic practitioner’s office. The person who recommended him to me never explained who he was or that he was an Ayurvedic practitioner. I thought he was a holistic doctor of some sort and it was just the next step in the process of my fungal battle. Just because I went to an Ayurvedic practitioner about my fungal issue does not mean you have to go see a practitioner just because you are having a problem with your health. I think it would be very beneficial if people went just to find out what dosha you are and how your system functions. To also find out what foods are good for you and your diet or what foods are not good for you or your diet. Dosha in Ayurvedic medicine is the three energies that define a person’s makeup. The three doshas are Vata, Kapha and Pitta. These are derived from the five elements Earth, Wind, Water, Fire and Air. We all have a combination of the three doshas but one is going to be more prominent than the others. For me I am a kapha (wet and cold.) In the practice, the goal is to find a balance between mind, body, and the environment. See the imagine below for more of an explanation.

11b23c7cbca0844432042bb78040fad4

Once you find out what dosha you are, you can then start doing exercises that are beneficial as well as eating certain foods that will help your dosha. For me, being a kapha, “wet” foods are not good for me. The simple quote of “you are what you eat.” I am a damp person, and if you think about it, what does fungus like? Wet areas to grow and live in. GROSS!!!! My favorite foods mostly involve pasta, cheese, zucchini, yellow squash and melon. Those are all considered “wet” foods so I now have those in moderation. I switched from whole wheat and regular white pasta to quinoa or corn because, surprisingly, I was told by my practitioner that brown rice pasta is not good for me and normally that is a great alternative for people who are gluten intolerant or who want to avoid the bad carbs. Another shocker for me was that basmati rice was actually a good option for me as a grain to have.

This is all just an insight into this lifestyle and practice. Ayurveda can be really confusing. I was super overwhelmed after my first visit with my new herbal prescriptions given to me (he has his own pharmacy) and then I was thinking I was being somewhat healthy even with my love of pasta and wine. To hear “hey all your favorite foods are actually working against you” threw me into a panic. That hour and half drive home was brutal because I was so confused. I then came home and did as much research and pinning on pinterest to become more knowledgeable with Ayurveda, and dosha’s so for my next appointment I wouldn’t be so shell shocked. I wanted to take control of my life and health. I do not enjoy having fungus. I am a very clean person and I do not know why I was chosen to have this chronic problem. But I am willing to work with it and find the solution to the problem. I have taken every life tip given to me from my practitioner and tried to use it in daily life. Ayurveda teaches you how to have a better lifestyle with you health.

A year later I have gotten a little bit closer but have not cured my chronic fungal problem yet. It is a definite work in progress and I take what I can from my Ayurvedic practitioner and try to use it daily in my life. It is really hard. It is hard to have the foods you love in moderation when you thought they were healthy for you but for me to cure this problem I need to go back to the drawing board. I am going to beat this.

I encourage you to read up on Ayurveda. It is really fascinating and to me, SIMPLE! It is all about taking care of yourself in the best way possible and what foods make you function better. Kind of like a lifestyle change. Kate Hudson talked about Ayurveda highly in her new book “Pretty Happy.” If the celebrities are talking about it, it must be really good.

I hope you enjoyed this quick read. Thanks for stopping by.

Practitioner in Rochester NY:

Sonam Targee

Books: 

Body Thrive By Cate Stillman

Ayurvedic Home Remedies

Ayurvedic Cook Book

Pretty Happy By Kate Hudson

Quick quiz: 

Dosha Quiz

Bibliography:

“Chopra Center Marketplace Ayurveda Dosha Quiz from Deepak Chopra.” Default Store View. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 June 2017.

Hudson, Kate. ” Pretty Happy” New York: Kate Hudson, 2016

Aarogya.com. “Ayurveda.” Aarogya.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 26 June 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

